Project 3 Genius Loci: Screenprinting

With my plan to create a poster zine for children I decided that it would be a suitable addition if it included a printed poster for parents to keep. This will help them to show an interest in helping educate their children on the history of the local area. The main zine will include illustrations activities and information on the history of the crystal. In addition, the zine will fold out to reveal a carefully designed printed poster that can be framed or displayed. The poster will use the colour scheme of the rest of the children’s zine.

Continuing on from my previous project ‘what’s up’ I decided to in keep with the screen printing theme. The colours will also come out bolder and more appealing to youngsters.

 

My screen-printed poster is based on the ground level historic palace and an image of the forgotten crystal palace subway below ground. To reflect the above and below I am layering an architectural illustration of the palace on top of detailed photograph of the Victorian subway.

 

I began by preparing my images in Photoshop in order to bitmap them for printing. For printing on A2 paper I printed both bitmapped images in full a4 size in order them to take up a large part of the page when placed slighting overlapping.

I began printing the architectural drawings of the palace in a bold pink as I was sticking to my bold child friendly theme. The bright colours will add to the vibrancy representing a bright history.

I decided that the building was almost too bright to work as the colour of the diagram of the palace as it will not stand out enough when contrasted with another colour. There for I printed the detailed image of the subway in pink as it needs to be lighter and subtler. In contrast with the pink I decided to use ultramarine blue for the palace as it is dark enough to stand out whilst still being bright and colourful. The two colours worked well together and I am pleased with the final outcome. On evaluation, I decided that the poster was missing some text and my next step is to work on adding a title to this page.

 

Leave a Reply

