G.F Smith Talk

Today we had a talk from G.F smith about paper types and book making. She bought in some really interesting example books and triggered a number of ideas for my own book. I also got advice from her on how I could improve my book binding skills based on a book I had made in the past which I showed her.

The books I saw encouraged not to think about my book in a generic way and I began thinking about how I could be more playful with designs and layout. Paper types is a huge part of the decision-making process. I decided that I wanted to experiment using some transparent paper types and work with layering this up. This technique would be representative of some of the work I produced within my studio projects using materials such as acrylic, acetate and tracing paper. I decided having a sleeve for my book would give a more finished and subtle effect to the way it looks.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

