Project 2. Soundtrack of our Lives

20160507_160353

This project required us to think about music and the connection it holds within our lives. The aim was to create a series of three A2 posters that reflected this and worked well in sequence. This encouraged me to think about memories, connections with other people, mood, color and relief. Mostly, i enjoy music around other people and don’t tend to find myself enjoying it alone, Therefore this spurred on the idea of communal listening.

After researching particular artists and designers that have connections to music i discovered the importance of color and shape within our connection of sound.Practitioners such as Ian Gabb and Saul Bass inspired me to think more about these correlations.

Music takes presidence within my family unit and whenever the extended family all come together my uncle would create a playlist compiled of all our favourite songs so that we can all enjoy and share  our musical interest as a group.

After brainstorming all the songs that i relate to family i chose my three that hold greatest sentiment to me. i chose :

Guy Clarke- “Let him roll”- Guy Clarke- Let him Roll This is a song that holds great sentiment for me and is a song that has brought me to tears. Me and my cousins will sing it in the car and i think fondly of my uncle when i hear it.

Sigue Ros- “Hoppipolla” –Sigur Ros- Hoppipolla  This is a song that i have listened to communally with my family, and also with my friends. One of the greatest holidays i ever had was a trip to a festival in Holland and this was the final song that played. Everyone was together we were looking at incredible views across a lake and all felt pure happiness. This is a song i hold dearly to my heart. It is a song about jumping in puddles and the child within us all.

Tom Waits – “come on up to the house”-Tom Waits – Come on up to the house This is one of my fathers all time favorite songs and a song that has made  its way into the hearts of all our family. It reminds me of togetherness, car journeys with my family and is a song about hope.

Due to the strong family ties my chosen songs have and their links to communal listening i started to look into how this could be reflected visually. Circles are a symbol of togetherness therefor i thought this geometric style would work perfectly for my posters. I then began to look into color theory and certain links that colors hold with our emotions. I then looked at different varieties of colors and created mood boards for each of the songs.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment